***ODE TO HALESTORM OR CONFESSIONS OF A FANGIRL***

Hey everyone ! 🙂

One of the things I like the most beside watching old Shane Dawson videos, pretending I’m Jimi Hendirx with my electric guitar (but I’m still not able to play with my teeth !) and drawing, is fangirling !

Ok, definition: according to Wikipedia, AKA the-most-reliable-source-in-the-world-and-you-know-it, “(fandom slang) A female fan who is obsessive about a particular subject (especially, someone or something in popular entertainment media).”

giphy-1

I think we all have a fangirl phase but some pull it off better than others haha.

So yeah, I LOVE Halestorm, an amazing americain hard rock band, and I’m one of their fangirls. I listen to their songs litteraly EVERYDAY, but I have good reasons:

161410542_halestorm_photogjasonkempin

From left to right, Joe Hottinger (Lead Guitar), Lzzy Hale (Singing and Rythm Guitar), Arejay Hale (Drums) and Josh Smith (Bass).

1/They rock on stage!

Joe’s guitar solos, Arejay’s energy at the drums, Josh’s groove at the bass and Lzzy super powerful voice are perfect 99% of the time ! I mean, it’s a must for rock bands, to play LIVE (Hi Britney sorrynotsorry ❤) ! They always play live, no tracks, autotune and that’s so refreshing in a world full of technologies designed to artificially improve the artists’ performances.

tumblr_lnsknnkltc1qkjvb8o1_400

2/ Their upbeat songs are as good as their ballads !

One of the reasons why listen to their music all the time is that whatever your mood is, there’s always a song for you ! You feel ***flawless like  Beyoncé ? ‘Daughters of Darkness‘, ‘You Call Me a Bitch Like It’s A Bad Thing‘, ‘I Like It Heavy‘ will be perfect ! You feel melancholic ? ‘Familiar Taste Of Poison‘, ‘I’m not An Angel‘, ‘Break In‘ will satisfy you ! There’s a good balance between the ‘Mz Hyde‘ side: badass, confident and super charismatic and the more fragile, sentimental side of their rock ballds. They even won a Grammy Award in 2012 for the best rock/metal performance thanks to ‘Love Bites (So Do I)‘!

mz__hyde_by_icequeen1186-d5u7b0q

Mz Hyde, Lzzy Hale’s badass alter ego. She is for Lzzy what Sasha Fierce is for Beyoncé. (DeviantArt Credit: IceQueen1186)

3/ Their covers are dope !

In addition to their awesome original songs, they have pretty dope covers. My favourite one is the’Bad Romance‘ one, I think it’s the most well-known. By the way, Lzzy’s voice is so deep during the verses of this song that I thought it was a duet with a male singer…until I saw her singing that live !

Other than that their covers of ‘Get Lucky‘ by Daft Punk, ‘All I Wanna Do‘ by Heart, ‘Shoot To Thrill‘ by AC/DC or ‘Empire State of Mind‘ by Jay-Z and Alicia Keys are as amazing !

halestorm-reanimate-2-0

One of Halestorm’s 2 cover EPs

4/ Their bring more fun to rock !

What differenciates Halestorm and other big bands like them (I mean, big in the rock/metal community) is that their rock is much more upbeat ! In opposition to bands such as Evanescence, The Pretty Reckless or In This Moment (bands that I really enjoy, btw ^^) that are very dark when it comes to their lyrics or visuals, Halestorm brought that 80’s vibe à la Joan Jett, Lita Ford or Bon Jovi !

0t5a1060final

Lzzy Hale (on the left) et Lita Ford (on the right)

5/ LZZY FREAKING HALE !!

And last but not least: Lzzy Hale ! It’s true that she’s very beautiful but she’s also very talented: she has a good vocal technique, her charisma on stage is obvious and she can play the guitar and the piano. It may not seem much to some people, but actually it is, it’s always nice to see female singers that don’t only rely on their appearance to sell records!

Also, she’s very inspiring because she’s a solar woman that embraces her sexiness. She embodies the strong rock chick that can inspire us to be an independent woman ourselves, in today’s society where feminism and girl power are taking over. Moreover, she stands for what she believes in, such as tolerance, pretty recently.

Bonus fact: She has her own signature guitar in collaboration with Gibson ! She has the double neck version in the picture with Lita Ford above and the regular version underneath.

495572368

In a nutshell, I think I’m right to fangirl over Halestorm ! I pray to be lucky enough to see them in concert someday

I hope you enjoyed this article and see ya !

Electric guitars & Studded Bracelets !

Pixie McQueen 😉

Leave a comment